Broker Check

Blog

Monday, June 27, 2022

Prospects of cooling inflation powered a rally in stock prices last week despite growing recession concerns.The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained 5.39%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 climbed 6.45%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Wednesday, June 22, 2022

Lofty prices and higher mortgage rates are beginning to shake the foundation of the single-family housing market. Are we headed for a 2008-style correction? Read the latest Markets in a Minute for our take on what’s next...

Tuesday, June 21, 2022

Stocks moved lower last week as recession fears deepened following a Fed hike in interest rates and weak economic data.The Dow Jones Industrial Average fell 4.79%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 dropped 5.79%. The Nasdaq...

Monday, June 13, 2022

A higher-than-expected inflation report triggered a sell-off on Friday, leaving stocks in the red for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average lost 4.58%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 dropped 5.05%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Monday, June 6, 2022

In a holiday-shortened week of volatile trading, stocks surrendered some of the previous week’s strong gains.The Dow Jones Industrial Average fell 0.94%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 declined 1.20%. The Nasdaq Composite...

Show All

Tuesday, May 31, 2022

Stocks posted solid gains for the week, buoyed by the release of Fed meeting minutes and upbeat earnings from mid-size and discount retailers.The Dow Jones Industrial Average jumped 6.24%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 advanced...

Monday, May 23, 2022

Monday, May 16, 2022

Monday, May 9, 2022

Monday, May 2, 2022

Monday, May 2, 2022

Monday, April 25, 2022

Monday, April 18, 2022

Monday, April 11, 2022

Tuesday, April 5, 2022

Monday, April 4, 2022

Monday, March 28, 2022

Monday, March 21, 2022

Wednesday, March 16, 2022

With the war in Ukraine approaching its one-month mark and inflationary pressures rising, many investors are asking: What’s there to feel good about? The Fed is mulling the same question as it contemplates its next steps.

Monday, March 14, 2022

Wednesday, March 9, 2022

The war in Ukraine is in its second week. In my latest Money with Murphy, I talk about the most pronounced market impacts and share some suggestions for how you can help from a humanitarian perspective.

Monday, March 7, 2022

Tuesday, March 1, 2022

The Russian invasion of Ukraine has humanitarian and geopolitical consequences but what are the implications for the global economy and equities?

Monday, February 28, 2022

Thursday, February 24, 2022

The Ukraine-Russia crisis has recently taken over the headlines. In today’s Money with Murphy, I take a look back to what brought us here and why investors should care.

Tuesday, February 22, 2022

Wednesday, February 16, 2022

With inflation hotter than expected and spreading beyond pandemic-affected industries, the Fed appears poised to take more aggressive steps to rein in price increases. What does that mean for stocks?

Monday, February 14, 2022

Monday, February 7, 2022

Monday, January 31, 2022

Tuesday, January 25, 2022

As we reflect on the past year and the road ahead, it can be helpful to think of the economy as a car that’s been traveling above the speed limit and now must slow down as the terrain gets a bit rougher. Please read the attached...

Monday, January 24, 2022

Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Monday, January 10, 2022

Wednesday, December 22, 2021

Monday, December 20, 2021

Wednesday, December 8, 2021